top of page

Making Celiac Friendly Pasta


I'm hoping my dish will look something like this...

I have been craving Fettuccine Alfredo for weeks. The problem is that most every white sauce out there is thickened with some sort of flour. I found a few recipes that called for cornstarch or a nut flour instead, in addition to reduced fat recipes. But I wanted the FLAVAAA from when I was little. Then I found this recipe, on the Dangerously Delicious blog and its absolutely flour free! I was hoping to find some tasty flour-free pasta to go with it, and then I found some gluten-free, flour-free, and grain-free Traditional Shirataki Yam noodles. Traditional Shirataki noodles are made with yam and are soy free. I wish they had Fettuccine ones, but beggars can't be choosers, right? :) It was quite tasty, but be warned, it tasted like I was eating ramen with my sauce. ^.^ Plus, I dipped some of my bammy into some of it. Made some tasty chips and dip....don't judge me. ;)

Grain-Free Alfredo Sauce

Ingredients:

3 Tbsp sweet cream butter (regular salted butter will do)

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 tsp minced garlic

2 cups heavy cream (same thing as heavy whipping cream)

¼ tsp white or black pepper, plus extra for topping

½ cup grated Parmesan cheese

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

Instructions:

  1. Gently melt butter in pan with olive oil, on low heat. Then whisk in garlic, cream, white pepper, and bring to a simmer.

  2. Add the Parmesan cheese, and continue to simmer, for about 10 minutes, until it is thick and smooth, continuously stirring.

  3. Add mozzarella cheese, and continue stirring until smooth.

  4. Portion onto your choice of pasta (Makes about 4 cups of sauce). You can freeze any extra, just stir while reheating in a pan, to reconstitute.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page